Difference between what is and what you want.

I get very anxious when I have two people that want something done at the same time. I think many people would laugh at that - those that have dozens of people that need something done now. But it only takes two for me.

I think a part of it is that I’ve gotten into the “inbox zero” habit over the years. I hate to have things pile up. I want to address things immediately. And when I can’t, because of other stuff going on with work or family, I get stressed.

Today, my good buddy Andy from Headspace (we’ve actually never met before, but I feel like he’s my best friend), defined stress as the difference between what is and what you want. I suppose that want I “want” is for nobody to demand things from me, ever. And the difference is that people need to have things done, at a specific time.

I’m also reminded of a classic mom quote - “We can only ask that you do your best.” So I guess that is where I sit. To do my best to addresses things, when people need them. But too not stress out over it. I’m way more efficient with clearer, calmer mind.

 
0
Kudos
 
0
Kudos

Now read this

Start something that matters

Just finished listening to Start Something that Matters by Blake Mycoskie (the TOMS shoe guy). Interesting fact, TOMS is derivative of the word ‘tomorrow’ and the idea that we have a better tomorrow. There is no Tom. The book was very... Continue →