Tag the Most Engaging Contacts in Highrise

I’ve been using Highrise as my CRM for the last several years. I have it deeply integrated (via their API) with Purlem to track Purlem’s users, their subscription status, and to set alerts for on-boarding.

I’m also been forwarding all incoming mail to my Highrise dropbox address . This keeps nearly all of my email correspondence within Highrise.

Since we just launched Tend.io, I wanted to reach out to some of the people I’ve corresponded with over the last couple years to let them know that Tend exists. The way I did that was to create an API script to loop through everybody in Highrise, and tag those that I’ve had more than 5 email conversations with. These would be my “Most Engaging” contacts.

Here is how I did it using ignaciovazquez’s HighriseAPI class.

//include HighriseAPI class
require_once("path/to/HighriseAPI.class.php");

//connect
$argv = array();
$argv[0] = '';
$argv[1] = 'purlem'; 
$argv[2] = 'xxxxxxxxxxx';

if (count($argv) != 3)
    die("Usage: php HighriseAPI.test.php [account-name] [access-token]\n");

$hr = new HighriseAPI();
$hr->debug = false;
$hr->setAccount($argv[1]);
$hr->setToken($argv[2]);


//Loop through everybody in Highrise, tag as "Most Engaging" if emailed more than 5 times
$people = $hr->findAllPeople();

foreach($people as $person)
{
    $emails = $person->getEmails();
    if(count($emails) > 5) {
        @$person->addTag("Most Engaging");
        @$person->save();
    }
}

Now, In my Highrise account, I have a list of contacts tagged with “Most Engaging,” that will be a great starting point for my Let people know about Tend effort.

 
1
Kudos
 
1
Kudos

Now read this

DC Trip

Hanging out in DC today. I came, kind-of on a whim, to meet with a Purlem user. This is not something I do often. Scratch that. I’ve never gone anywhere to meet with a Purlem user. Although Bob is different. On my morning run Bob is... Continue →