The Cloud

Yesterday my computer decided to stop working. Today, I’m up and running with a new one.

For the past couple of years I’ve been entirely “in the cloud.” No, not my head, well - maybe sometimes. Rather, all of my data is saved through Dropbox/Drive/iCloud.

the-cloud.jpg
All of this paid off yesterday when my computer decided to stop working. Of-course it wasn’t ideal. But there was no sweating/swearing. And it was a good excuse for me to go out and buy the new Macbook :)

If even the thought of loosing your computer makes your cringe, I suggest moving everything to the cloud. It’s really quite easy. Here’s how I do it:

  1. Sign up for Dropbox. I’d opt for Dropbox pro as it will even keep a backup of deleted files for you.

  2. Move all of your documents, into Dropbox. This is really easy. Literally, all of the files from your documents folder into your dropbox folder. I’m also using Dropbox Carousel to store my photos, and love it.

  3. Use 1Password to store passwords. 1Password can will automatically sync through Dropbox. It can also store software licenses to easily reference in the future.

  4. Use Google Chrome as your web browser. I like use Google Chrome because it automatically keeps things in sync (such as bookmarks/browser settings). Other browsers do this as well, but I have found that Chrome makes this the most painless.

  5. Favor applications that automatically sync data with the cloud. I understand that this isn’t always possible, but when possible, use applications that allow you to automatically sync with the cloud.

For example, the apps listed below I use on a near-daily bases. All of which automatically sync to the cloud/dropbox.

When the day of doom arrives, getting back up and running is extremely quick.

  1. Download the Dropbox App
  2. Sync all files back down to your new computer
  3. Download 1Password
  4. Download the your applications (reference 1password to remember your logins/licenses).

And your up and running. Boo ya!

 
0
Kudos
 
0
Kudos

Now read this

Finding Flow in Business

I started listening to Flow on my morning run with the kids. Here is how Mihaly describes flow: Flow tends to occur when a person faces a clear set of goals that require appropriate responses. It is easy to enter flow in games such as... Continue →