Why Blog?

If I’m not hanging out with family, I’m probably in front of my computer building something. Family and business are the two loves of my life. And I feel extremely fortunate that my business (ie Purlem and Tend), allow for this balance.

My goal with this blog is to create a daily “journal” on the art of bootstrapping a business, while maintaining a lifestyle you can be proud of.

There was a stretch of about a year that I wrote on Purlem’s blog nearly every day. My primary objective for blogging was to help Purlem’s ranking on Google, and it did work for the most part. You can now find Purlem ranking on page 1 for most of our major keywords.
I then started to get burnt out from the blogging, and new posts started to slow drastically. Thankfully, I haven’t been punished by Google yet for the lack of new content.

I nice side-effect was that I found blogging helped me to think through critical business decisions. It forced me to take a step back, and think critically for about 30 minutes every day.

I’ve been thinking about jumping back into the habit for a while. My excuse the last couple of years as been the babies. My “work” time has already been nearly cut in half. Spending extra time to blog is certainly eating away at critical “get stuff done” time. It’s been attempted and failed before. At least he got three posts in!

But hopefully it’s worth it. And hopefully you find it valuable/entertaining as well.

We’ll see if I get back tomorrow.

 
2
Kudos
 
2
Kudos

Now read this

Tend is 1

It’s been about one year since we came up with the concept for Tend. In early 2014, I was noticing that some of Purlem’s most active users were using PURLs as way to segment out their customers into specific marketing “buckets.” For... Continue →