Start something that matters

Just finished listening to Start Something that Matters by Blake Mycoskie (the TOMS shoe guy).

Interesting fact, TOMS is derivative of the word ‘tomorrow’ and the idea that we have a better tomorrow. There is no Tom.

Shoe Drop 3.jpg

The book was very inspiring. It forces you to look at what actually matters. Blake recently moved onto a Sailboat to remove the “stuff” from his life. It also makes a very case for creating a for-profit company with a social mission. It makes sense that there would be not only personal benefits, but logistical benefits as well.

If your looking to “start something that matters,” Blake suggests asking yourself the following three questions:

For me, the first two are easy - I’d like spend my time with family and run a fun and profitable software company. The third one stumps me a bit. I’m not sure what cause I’d like to serve. I’m inspired by Patrick McConlogue, the guy who taught a homeless guy how to code. I’m not sure if there is something there or not.

 
0
Kudos
 
0
Kudos

Now read this

DC Trip

Hanging out in DC today. I came, kind-of on a whim, to meet with a Purlem user. This is not something I do often. Scratch that. I’ve never gone anywhere to meet with a Purlem user. Although Bob is different. On my morning run Bob is... Continue →